[EP~59] Tonight at 7PM ET TheREWIND celebrates The Music of Rod Temperton

Tonight at 7:00PM ET on TheREWIND we spotlight the fantastic music from writer,producer and musician,the late great Rod Temperton who was often called “The Invisible Man”. Rod wrote,co-wrote and or produced such classic songs as “Boogie Nights”,”Always And Forever”,”The Groove Line”,”Rock With You”,”Off The Wall”,”Give Me The Night”,”Stomp”,”Thriller”,”Yah Mo B There”,”Sweet Freedom” and more. We’ll here ALL of these songs and celebrate a “reluctant” legend from his humble beginnings being hired to the great R&B/pop band Heatwave by Johnie Wilder Jr. as their keyboard player they not only got a great keyboard player but gained a dynamic R&B writer that propelled them to becoming one of music’s top groups in the late 70’s. After Heatwave’s second LP,”Central Heating”,Rod stepped away from the band as a group member but continued to be their principle writer for their next three albums. In 1979,Rod teamed up with legendary producer Quincy Jones to write and “Off The Wall” and “Rock With You” from Michael Jackson’s famed LP Off The Wall which went on to sell over 8 million copies in the US alone. Three years later,Michael and Quincy recruited Rod again to write three songs including the title track which would become the biggest selling LP of all time,”Thriller”!! We’ll hear ALL of these classics including how Rod wrote the “Thriller Rap” for legendary horror/drama actor Vincent Price. So get ready for an exciting night of great music,courtesy of “The Invisible Man” Rod Temperton!


Leave a Reply